The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Headlight questions

Showing results 1 to 16 of 16

Headlight questions

Hi all, I am a newbie to DIY car repair. I have a 2000 Galant ES. Last week, the driver side headlight quit, and a broken socket was to blame. Bought a new Dorman one today at the auto store and am trying to install it. The Dorman socket has black, blue and red wire. The Galant has red with blue stripe, and yellow with red stripe, and black wire. I know obviously that black goes to black. But does the red wire go to the yellow/red and does the blue go to the red/blue wire?
    I tried to hook it up that way, and then the other headlight died. The headlights are silverlight bulbs. Any advice to help.
    Thanks!

just look at the position of the wire on the connector and match them up one by one.
    Brandon - 2001 Galant GST 5speed
    Wiseco // Eagle // PTE // Holset // Turbonetics // Supertech // Blox // Prosport // Vibrant // Innovate // OpenEcu // Mishimoto // Magnaflow // Walbro // XXR // Rotora // Brembo // Hawk // R1 Concepts // Dc Sports

You will need to open the connector, it has clips on it and math the wires across. Since we aren't sure whether the new red or blue wires are hi or low, same thing goes for the new harness, just have a look at the back for it's positioning. Ideally I would tell you use a multimeter, but not everyone has one.

Also, those silverstar bulbs run a bit on the hot side which is why their lifespan is so short. Try not to run them during the day when it's not necessary. For the cost of replacing those bulbs I would just go with Bi-Xenon HIDs, the harness it uses will draw less than 1 amp from your stock wiring, preventing further damage to the H4 connector.