PDA

View Full Version : Oil in the coolant?

mike969mb
11-15-2003, 09:46 PM
I was checking my fluids like i do once a week and i look at my coolant and its not greenish like it normally is, almost brownish, so i open it up and it seemed to smell and look like oil in there? Could that possibly happen? And if so what happened? Whats the recommended course of action. 2002 ES I4 by the way.

Thanks,
mike

HeadAche
11-15-2003, 10:01 PM
Flush the whole system, thats the only possibly remedy for it all..

Sammy_ES
11-15-2003, 10:06 PM
I'm thinking you could have some kind of crack in your block or head. Might be a gasket problem too, like head gasket. (I'm not a mechanic).

mike969mb
11-15-2003, 11:07 PM
Think could already be something that major on an 02 with 22k miles on it?

Thanks,
mike

manybrews
11-16-2003, 01:45 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mike969mb)</div><div class='quotemain'>Think could already be something that major on an 02 with 22k miles on it?

Thanks,
mike</div>
no.

there are no mechanical failures on these engines, unless youve overheated it so badly that you have caused a failure.

mike969mb
11-16-2003, 09:37 AM
no other possible explainations?

Coldshot
11-16-2003, 05:43 PM
just flush your cooling system

Faction
11-16-2003, 05:47 PM
http://www.clubtgc.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=23684 ('http://www.clubtgc.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=23684')

11-16-2003, 10:02 PM
I was checking my fluids like i do once a week and i look at my coolant and its not greenish like it normally is, almost brownish, so i open it up and it seemed to smell and look like oil in there? Could that possibly happen? And if so what happened? Whats the recommended course of action. 2002 ES I4 by the way.

Thanks,
mike