PDA

View Full Version : Oil filter question.

Insane99
10-15-2004, 01:01 PM
Going to use royal purple synthetic<5W30 or 10W30? 00 ES I4 57,700 miles. Wanted to use the fram X2 but Wal-Mart didnt have it for the I4. Its designed for synthetic oils so i would imagine there are others designed for it also. Anyone know of any GOOD ones?

pinoyesv6
10-15-2004, 01:25 PM
fram = trash

i'd go with either a mobil1 oil filter or k&n

the filter form mitsubishi is also good.

Insane99
10-16-2004, 11:28 AM
koo.

silveresv6
10-16-2004, 11:36 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(pinoyesv6)</div><div class='quotemain'>i'd go with either a mobil1 oil filter or k&n</div>

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: i second that. i have been using mobil1 oil and filters on all my cars for about 6 yrs now.

mobil1 is the best

get the mobil1

BlankMan
10-16-2004, 08:18 PM
Fram is not really a POS. It seems each car has it's own "preference" of filters. For instance, if I use anything other than a Fram orange or Ford label filter for my F-150, I get wierd oil pressure readings after long drives. Still, the Galant - or at least mine - seems to like the Mitsu factory or M0bile 1 filters.

J

Insane99
10-17-2004, 08:01 PM
Thanks for the help everone. What weight should i use for a 00 ES I4 wit 57,700 ish miles? 5W30 or 10W30? Been using 10W with reg oil.Does putting sythetic in an engine that is broken in with regular ever have any problems? Like clogging the motor and blowing it?< Have actually heard this. Don't really believe it but figured i would ask.

Faction
10-17-2004, 09:14 PM
fram filters are good enough for me..i dont have any problems. and mobil 1 filters are just too expensive.

10-18-2004, 03:56 AM