PDA

View Full Version : Auto to 5-spd tranny swap...

NYmagicstk
03-29-2005, 04:30 AM
<span style='color:blue'>Can the mitsu dealership do this? I definitely will not try and do this myself, as I have very little knowledge of tranny systems. I'm guessing if Mitsu can do it, they'll charge me an arm and a leg like they do with their damn parts. I'm in NY, does anyone know where I might be able to get this done affordably? At least within 45min. of Manhattan. I live in Queens, but I'd be willing to go to Jersey, if the prices are good.

Please do not reply with "Do a search" I hate doing searches, cause I never find what I'm looking for.
Thanx for the help Ladies and fellas.

P.s. I have a 2001 ES 4cyl. If I could do an affordable Auto 4cyl to 5spd V6 swap, that would be the shit.</span>

peanotation
03-29-2005, 10:56 AM
not to be a cocky egotistical asshole, but if you can't do the tranny swap you should just stop even thinking about your car. if you don't have the tools and resources to do it, that's understandable. but if you can change your own oil and read english, there is no reason why you can't theoretically do the tranny swap. i left no room for assumption or question in my tutorial. granted, it's for a 7G, but it's the exact same for the 8G, just things are located in slightly different places, and the tranny is on the other side. i was scared before i did my swap, but afterwards, i was pissed because everyone makes it sound so hard. i have more problems cooking than i did with the swap

http://socallifestyle.com/tutorial/tutorial.html ('http://socallifestyle.com/tutorial/tutorial.html')

BigMike
03-29-2005, 11:02 AM
magic, you should contact Stewi on this board. He has successfully swapped the tranny to 5-spd for an 8G....I'm sure he would be able to help you out

NYmagicstk
03-29-2005, 05:32 PM