PDA

View Full Version : No compression NEED HELP!

Got Rice Galant
03-02-2006, 10:05 PM
Well I bought another 95 S 5spd. and it was running on two cylinders. 166K miles. So first thing i checked was spark (fine) then fuel (fine) then checked to see if all the timing marks were lined up right. All right on. I did a compression test and is as follows,
#1 185lbs
#2 0
#3 150lbs
#4 0
I do have two other 4G64 motors and one 4G63T. Just trying to figure out what the problem is with this one. Probably going to take the head off of it tomorrow. Kinda praying its only top end because I just had back sugery and its really hard to bend over and work on a car. If anyone can give me any guesses I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.
Pete

Shadow19
03-02-2006, 10:10 PM
If i had to guess. I would say either A. Headgasket is completely shot or B. Maybe the rings are bad but im no mechanic so i can only say what i would think.

peanotation
03-02-2006, 10:13 PM
taking a shot in the dark here, maybe blown rings? so bad that there's literally gap around the piston....

ChikagoGTZ
03-02-2006, 10:17 PM
Sounds bad...but this is easily fixed with either of the 3 motors you have at your disposal...I say go with the 63... https://www.thegalantcenter.org/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif

Shadow19
03-02-2006, 10:19 PM
Possibly.. but man im telling you from personal experience.. galants are the hardest fuckin thing to diagnoss. you think u have one thing down packed and thats the problem but nooo... its not haha trust me ive replaced heads because the distributor was bad... So anything is possible with that car.. But i would lean towards the headgasket... or maybe the head is cracked on those 2 pistons.. BTW you say you have 2 4g64 motors.. Hmmmmmm want to sell the head off of one???

ChikagoGTZ
03-02-2006, 10:20 PM