PDA

View Full Version : 2000 galant es w/ 114k miles. deall???

muhammad
07-22-2007, 01:28 AM
I am a college student and am looking to purchase my first car. I am looking for something to last 5 years and w/ OK appearance. Plus I dont want to spend over 6 Gs.

I found this 2000 Galant Es with 114000 miles.
I checked out the Carfax report, 3 owners. Vehicle has always been in Florida. (any problems with that?)
First a rental agency for a year. Second owner was a leaser for a year. Third owner had it until recently.
NO SALVAGE, NO ACCIDENTS, CLEAN REPORT.

The price: $3900 USD.

My question, is this a deal? How long would a car like this serve me?
Any things I should really check out? Maybe rust since Florida has hurricanes?

any input will be greatly appreciated.

thnx

Koncept
07-22-2007, 02:38 AM
Kelly Blue Book estimates that year and model (I'm guessing it's a i4 and not the V6) at around $6k, so 3900 isn't bad. Maybe try talking them down to 3500. The car should hold up pretty well, but you will want to make sure all the maintenance has been done to it. At 120,000 you will probably have to do a fairly big maintenance if it hasn't already been done...Things like timing belt, water pumps and other belts should be checked at this stage. As far as being from Florida, there is a lot of humidity down there, that with the hurricanes can provide a lot of water damage and/or rust to a car. Those definately be things to look for.

dknight3
07-22-2007, 02:48 AM
no, not a very good deal. It would be a pretty decent deal except the car was a rental.
maybe its just me but i would never buy a car thats been a rental.

Koncept
07-22-2007, 05:04 AM
My car was a fleet car before I purchased it as well. Sure, there were a few dings and scratches in the door, but 4 years later the car is still as good as I got it. If not better. Of course, I could be lucky too.

6G72Galant
07-22-2007, 05:17 AM
no, not a very good deal. It would be a pretty decent deal except the car was a rental.