PDA

View Full Version : Remote starter for 01 G

keithert
08-14-2007, 08:02 AM
My Galant will have to sit outside this winter so I'm looking into adding a remote starter to it. I have a few questions. Since the car has the security chip in the key I assume I will have to buy a module to insert a key into. Is this true? Can I use the valet key for this? I see Best Buy has a unit for $179 with basic installation. I assume the G is not a basic install because of the security key. How much extra will I likely pay because of this? I only want a remote start. I don't need to spend extra on an alarm. Lastly should I even consider installing one myself? I'm not good at electronics and hunting wires that are all over the car.

cntrylvr79
08-14-2007, 06:51 PM
If you're not good with electronics, then I would recommend having it professionally installed. As far as price and parts goes (based on when I worked at bb over a year ago)

179.99 - Remote Start System
49.99 - 556U Bypass module
24.99 - Bypass module install

YEs you can use the valet key in the bypass module. As long as you can start the car with the valet key, then you can use it.

lonestar22
08-14-2007, 07:02 PM
all the wires are under the steering wheels
diy

cntrylvr79
08-14-2007, 07:39 PM
all the wires are under the steering wheels
diy

Tach wire isn't.

fatal1
08-14-2007, 08:09 PM