PDA

View Full Version : Newb wantin some cheap horspower gains

sailordude74
02-08-2008, 01:35 PM
ok guys, i just got a 2004 galant with the 3.8 v6. I have always been a truck guy, i had a suburban with some mods but now i want to mod my 9 g. This car was passed down to me, it has 78,000 miles but runs flawlessly. Anyways, i see alot of people on here talking about just completely taking off the muffler, and like its an easy thing to do. does it just unbolt and slide off or do i have to cut it off? also, any mpg loss? or is it ridiculously loud? i can handle loud, had a 5.7 with flowmaster and no cats. but never heard a v6 straight piped

sailordude74
02-08-2008, 01:39 PM
Also, i know im new to the whole import scene, and especially with a car that is not known to be made to go too fast.. but anyone ever turbo the v6? or super charge it? i feel like a run mid to low 15 s stock, and i saw some guys on here runnin mid 14 with tune and intake. but i know these engines are capable of much more with some customizing.. or at least i hope....

quicksilver22
02-08-2008, 02:05 PM
ok. first off.... welcome

second off... this must be your first forum, so use the search feature, look in the members pics section, read through the performance sections, hell, go to cardomain and look at some things

cheap horsepower??? spray.

VegasMatt
02-08-2008, 02:07 PM
I havent kept up with Ripp products and how reliable they are for the 9g Galant/4g Eclipses but maybe check out their site. www.rippmods.com If you go FI youre going to be paying some cash though and will not be cheap HP. Good luck.

DOHCstunr
02-08-2008, 02:24 PM
first off. only race downhill. you'll definatly get an advantage.

2nd. you want to talk to krazienluv. he has a pretty well modded 9g.
they make headers, intake, there are exhausts. suspension mods like coilovers or springs/shocks.
ecu flashes.

there are a lot of upgrades for your ride. but as of yet i haven't seen a bolt on, galant specific turbo kit for the 9g.