PDA

View Full Version : General question.........lifting the car

xcore
10-05-2008, 02:23 AM
ok,i lift up my car tonight(this is my first time), try to fix the gasket, i didn't put the jack point on those two notches, i put it right next to the notch. but the jack point is still on the rigid rack. while i lift to half way, i hear two loud crack noise from the car, is there anything may crack? i have test drive it, feel nothing wrong. second thing.........what are signs that my rear shock absorbers are going fail?
P.S. i knew my English is poor, but i really want some answers, i worry i wreck the frame or other important part..........

qnz
10-05-2008, 08:21 AM
was it a crack sound or wast it a groaning sound. my guess would be that its the suspension adjusting itself since you are compressing one side lower

xcore
10-05-2008, 11:04 AM
do know what does groaning sound like. but while i got that noise, the another side is already on the jack stand.

9G
10-05-2008, 11:26 AM
are you lowered?

boochieboy
10-05-2008, 11:38 AM
Don't mean to thread jack but if you're lifting(jacking) up the car using the notches on the side rails,,,how are you supposed to place jackstands in the notches? You'd either have to jack somewhere else and place the stands in the notches or jack in the notch and put the stand beside the notch. ??? I always wondered this.

xcore
10-05-2008, 11:59 AM
are you lowered?

no, it's stock

xcore
10-05-2008, 12:04 PM
Don't mean to thread jack but if you're lifting(jacking) up the car using the notches on the side rails,,,how are you supposed to place jackstands in the notches? You'd either have to jack somewhere else and place the stands in the notches or jack in the notch and put the stand beside the notch. ??? I always wondered this.

ya!!! i should jack your car:)...j/k