PDA

View Full Version : Newbish-ish

evil mechanic
04-25-2009, 11:57 AM
Hello everyone! I just wanted to introduce myself. I just found this website lastnight and it has alot of useful info on it. I got a 03 Galant on friday for $19.75 :D no lie lol. Im a mechanic and someone had their ES towed in yesterday with a broken timing belt (150k miles and no belt change ever!!) and we told the customer that there is a 50% chance they might have bent a few valves. He decided he was just going to buy a new car and i bought it off him for the diagnostics fee.

Just a little bit of background. Ive been a auto tech for 9 years now on paper and about 13 all together. first car i built was a turbo/nitrous Paseo. ive built numerous VW big turbo 1.8t's, owned a 05 Evo 8 with a healthy amount of mods and a 98 TSI pretty well molested that one too. At first my plan was to get this ES running again and sell it for $3k but now that i see the evo 7, 8 and 9 motors drop in, and i can convert the slushbox to a manny, i might just make this my next project.

future plans if i keep the car are

evo 8 motor
5 spd swap
evo brake swap w/ rear rotor convert

just curious has anyone ever thought about stealing the awd system, fuel tank and subframe with suspension components and fitting them on the galant? im just wondering how far fetched that idea is.

youngin3
04-25-2009, 12:06 PM
The AWD swap is being done by a member here at the moment actually. It would take a lot of fabbing though.

Welcomg to TGC by the way!

The timing belt situation is how I got my most recent vehicle purchase also actually. It's not as new as a Galant, but it is still a car. :)

evil mechanic
04-25-2009, 12:20 PM
The AWD swap is being done by a member here at the moment actually. It would take a lot of fabbing though.

Welcomg to TGC by the way!

The timing belt situation is how I got my most recent vehicle purchase also actually. It's not as new as a Galant, but it is still a car. :)

Thanks man!