PDA

View Full Version : dash lights

Lucille03GalantES
01-17-2010, 09:25 AM
k guys, newbie here.....
Just bought an '03 ES I4 at a steal of a price, but the dash doesnt illuminate. When I got the car they were out, as was the pass side tail light. Fuse for tail lights under hood blown also. I jumped on here and found out dash lights run off same fuse as tail lamps. Replaced fuse, tail lamp, dash lit up...for one night. Came back out next morning, no dash lights, tail lamp out again, and fuse blown again. Noticed tail lamp housing had about 1.3" of water sitting in bottom of it, so i cleaned that out nice and dry and replaced tail lamp bulb and fuse once again. Now tail lamps all operational, but no dash lights and fuse continues to blow. Any ideas? The dash bulbs do not light, but the indicator lamps on the dash (fog lights, cruise, etc.) all work fine. And the speedo, odom, etc, all work also....any help is appreciated. Checked all other fuses in both boxes and theyre all fine, replaced each and every last fuse. Also looked under dash closely for pinched wiring, etc. and came up empty......thanks again-

littlerick
01-17-2010, 11:57 AM
did you find where the water was getting into the tail light housing? thats where i would start

Lucille03GalantES
01-17-2010, 12:47 PM
yea it was cracked, altezzas in the mail should be here tuesday...

Lucille03GalantES
01-17-2010, 02:34 PM
still blowing that fuse though has me stumped

mrg7243
01-17-2010, 04:00 PM
bad ground somewhere??? or possibly a short

Lucille03GalantES
01-17-2010, 06:59 PM
anyone know what accessories tie into that fuse? that way i could narrow it down a bit and troubleshoot the components

Reelax
01-17-2010, 07:12 PM
do you have an aftermarket head unit (radio)? if it was installed poorly, it could be sorting out the illumination circuit.

Lucille03GalantES
01-17-2010, 08:37 PM