PDA

View Full Version : Tranny, spark plugs, or something worse?

rwgt0su
07-14-2010, 12:53 PM
Hey everyone, forgive me but i'm a noob to these forums. I have come across an issue with my 2003 Mitsubishi Galant I4, automatic, with 115k miles. I'm driving about 400 miles a week right now.

Yesterday when i was leaving a parking garage, i started up the car, put the car in reverse, backed up, then put the car in drive and pressed the gas gently, but the car moved as if i was someone who doesn't know how to drive a stick shift. it only did this for about 3 seconds and then started going as if nothing had happened. I was able to continue on my way, stopping at stop lights and all with no more issues.

At my next destination i checked all the fluids, thinking the tranny was low on fluid. It wasn't, and i didn't see any metals in the fluid either. I did notice my coolant was extremely low (which i had forgotten to refill, meant too). I filled up the coolant thinking maybe with the coolant low and the A/C running, the engine was being over taxed on start up.

Today, i was pulling out of the same parking garage in the same manor, and the car did the same exact thing. It also did this again at a stop sign less than a minute later. But like before, once the car had "warmed up" the problem was unrepeatable.

Anyone got some ideas on what i should do/check next? Thanks in advance

RAZ_76
07-14-2010, 01:41 PM
Is it bogging down, sounds like your coil pack/s might be going. That happened to me and it will only get worse. When that happens again, really step on the gas and really push it. That should force it to set off a code.

That's what it was for me, I replaced the coil packs that sit on top of the spark plugs(2 of them) spark plugs and wires. That fixed it.

tamim13
07-14-2010, 02:09 PM