PDA

View Full Version : a/c problem

02galant5
09-02-2010, 10:21 AM
Let me start by saying i am an amateur when it comes to the a/c issues on my 02 galant. That being said everytime i turn on my a/c it blows warm air out and it sounds like the compressor is running and i took it in and they said i had enough freon. so i am stuck and dont know where to go from here if you have any answers or suggestions please let me know.
thanks
corey

tamim13
09-02-2010, 04:38 PM
I know this is a long shot, but it might be your heater actuator. Since the heater actuator is known for breaking and blowing only cold air when the switch is turned all the way to heat, I think it might be possible to work the other way too. Correct me if I'm wrong. How many miles do you have on your G? Do you hear any clicking when you change your thermostat switch all the way from heat to cold and vice-versa? Try doing that multiple times to see if it triggers your cold air.

02galant5
09-02-2010, 08:02 PM
My galant has 185,365miles and it clicked when i change it to the winter for the heat and the heat didnt work til i heard the clicking. i have tried that and i cant get it to click anymore i got it once this summer and the air still didnt blow out cold.

4g63lover
09-02-2010, 08:13 PM
There are a lot of ways to diagnose the A/C. How are the lines?

There could be a clog on your metering device whether its a TXV of Fixed Orifice tube I dont exactly remember what is on the Galant. I believe it's a TXV. I will double check and get back to you.

I would get some gauges on the lines and see if they are up to par as far as pressures are concerned.

02galant5
09-02-2010, 08:32 PM
alright thanks

03chi-town0z
09-02-2010, 09:29 PM