PDA

View Full Version : IAC P0505 advice

ibtheoneny
09-24-2010, 07:15 AM
Hello everyone I'm a noob to the forum. My sister's 2000 Galant has a P0505 code. I cleaned the Throttle Body and removed the IAC motor and cleaned the passages. I went to the junk yard got a few IAC motors replaced the original with one of the ones from the Junk yard. I did the ohm test on all three and they were all within specs which was 30.1 ohms. She drove it all day and the CEL came back on. I wanted to see if the gears were still working on the motors so I unplugged the IAC on the TB abd plugged the ones I had without installing them and turned the key and saw them engage even heard the buzzing sound they make when you turn the ignition switch. They were all good and the car idles around 800-950 and I did the AC and turning the steering wheel and the idle changes. The only thing I haven't done is clean the EGR valve or the MAF. I checked all the vacuum hoses and found no leaks. Any advice? I apologize for writing so much but I just wanted to make it easier for you guys to understand all the steps Ive taken so far.
BTW
I have a live data ODBII scanner so I can monitor all the sensors

Thanks in advance

4g63lover
09-24-2010, 12:48 PM
I have the same issue. Though I havent tried a different IAC yet.

Colton5419
09-24-2010, 01:21 PM
My car was actually throwing the P0507 code, which appears to be similar to the P0505 code. I had my IAC Motor replaced and to make a long story short now have the ORIGINAL UAC back in and haven't had the code come up - I've driven over 300 miles on the original. The only difference is that I've cleaned my MAF Sensor since then with MAF cleaner from advanced auto parts.

The only reason I could come up with was that about a month before then I cleaned my throttle body with rubbing alcohol and a rag while it was still installed in the car. (My assumption was that some of the rubbing alcohol dripped onto the sensor)