PDA

View Full Version : Head Gasket is Blown

mrledee
03-07-2011, 12:24 PM
Hello everyone,

I have a friend with a 99' Galant who has a blown head gasket (a mechanic told him). He doesn't know much about cars, and I have some knowledge and I was planning to take it apart this weekend and see how bad it is. I've done automotive work before, and I've helped someone replace a headgasket on a V6, but never on an I4. I understand that basically the entire top of the engine has to come off, and one of my main concerns is the timing belt (I have never replaced a timing belt or timed an I4 engine).

I just wanted to see if anyone could provide me with some tips to make this project a little smoother for me (pics, videos, experiences, etc).

Thanks in advance

galantlvr34
03-07-2011, 02:23 PM
here is a link for doing the timing belt.
https://www.thegalantcenter.org/showthread.php?t=16604&highlight=timing+belt

galantlvr34
03-07-2011, 02:58 PM
here is another thread that might help you out.
https://www.thegalantcenter.org/showthread.php?t=42060&highlight=head+gasket

gnaunited
03-07-2011, 06:45 PM
Here are a couple of pics to let you know just how much has to come off:

https://www.thegalantcenter.org/showpost.php?p=646358&postcount=18

shortdogg2k05
03-07-2011, 11:53 PM
Timing a 4 cylinder is not hard at all just match up all timing marks.

mrledee
03-11-2011, 07:53 PM
Thanks everyone for the info you have already supplied me with, it has been extremely helpful so far.

Okay, so I began to take the engine apart...I drained and flushed the cooling system, jacked it up and removed all the accessory belts and the timing belt covers. So this is how far I got.

http://i1192.photobucket.com/albums/aa326/mrledee/pic.jpg