PDA

View Full Version : 97-01 Mirage mirrors...will fit 8G

G-spot
06-08-2011, 04:21 PM
Too bad the junkyard I was at wouldn't let me bring in a camera....

My everlasting quest to find parts fitting the 8g has led me to another discovery. A discovery that I've been neglecting for over 4 years from speculation with no action/proof. Well, today my speculation as finally been realised: Late model Mitsubishi Mirage (97-02) 4dr/coupe folding mirrors has better fitment than Accord CD5 mirrors! This is not much different from the Accord mirrors. For those not familar with this platform this is what it looks like:
http://yakmee.com/images/main/sample/mitsubishi/mirage/1995_sedan_4d/mitsubishi_mirage_1995_sedan_4d_965b.jpg
http://i.ebayimg.com/00/$(KGrHqIOKpEE25br81Y0BNzwS901Q!~~0_12.JPG
here's what it looks when painted
http://i.ebayimg.com/00/$(KGrHqIOKo8E1qi0HjCLBNoRMwDtBQ~~_12.JPG

The beautiful part about this mirror is that base part where it attaches to the door are made out of the same rough plastic you'd see on the 8G JDM folding mirrors. The mirrors comes in 2 forms: the 4 door and the coupe model. Both are very similar in appearance excpt the coupe's mirror base is rounded off on the top corner. Also they either come in manual or electric so if you are 'lectric savvy, you can do your own wirings .

The only real con about this is the installation where it's similar to how the CD5 mirrors are installed (see tutorial). Just drill holes and insert the scresws. Other than that, it's a near clean install to whoever wants it. The junkyard I was at sells it for $10.75 per mirror (manual version) and $21.00 each for the electric version. It's a decent price considering the strain we face in the economy. I will find a donor car who would love to get a mod like this done to their car with full pics and installs.

o1naturalhigh
06-08-2011, 04:34 PM
is this the same years that the glass can be replaced for the jdm folding mirrors?

QnzMostWanted
06-08-2011, 06:44 PM