PDA

View Full Version : Brake Rotors

tamim13
07-19-2011, 12:55 PM
I know this topic has been covered numerous times, but this is my personal experience, and was looking for specific advice.

I've been using R1Concepts with Akebonos for the last two years or so. My first set of Rotors were the e-Lines and they lasted me about 36K before warping. I replaced them with the Premium ones hoping that they would last longer but they have also lasted around 35K and the vibration is back. I think it might be the fact that I drive a lot and the my braking style. Anyway, I think that's the average life of the R1s and I'm interested in going for something better.

I've done a little research and I heard that Cryogenic treated rotors last longer? Has anyone used them on here? I'm thinking about going for the Powerslot ones - http://www.tirerack.com/brakes/brakes.jsp?make=Power+Slot&model=Power+Alloy+Cryo-Treated+Rotor&group=Power+Alloy+Cryo-Treated+Rotor&autoMake=Mitsubishi&autoModel=Galant+ES+4cyl&autoYear=2003&autoModClar=

Any experience/suggestions are welcome.

galantlvr34
07-19-2011, 01:07 PM
I would look into brembos for that price,those rotors you posted up there are expensive.I know there are a couple of guys on here who have used power slot rotors.Brembo rotors are awesome but i am not sure how long they last for.

tamim13
07-19-2011, 01:23 PM
Thanks for the suggestion, I've looked into Brembos, but I don't think I can find ventilated rotors for the Galant (stock). Also, they have a reputation for warping and rusting badly. I don't mind the price, I just do not want to have to change them every 30K.

n3oAcid24
07-19-2011, 01:35 PM
i have brembo rotors all around and theyve lasted me over 4 years man. the front ones have been on for longer then that because i did the rear swap about 2 years after i installed the front rotors. they are great still.

tamim13
07-19-2011, 01:40 PM
How many miles do you have on them? What are the pads you have with them?

RedGalant2k1