PDA

View Full Version : Help with intake mod

jdeprima
05-23-2003, 12:11 PM
I have a '99 GTZ, but I have no experience with modifications. The only thing I have done myself is clean the throttle body. I keep seeing posts on here about intake mods. How easy is this mod? I haven't done much work under the hood, but I'm not an idiot either. Any tutorials on how to do this, or can anyone help me out? I would greatly appreciate it.

Jeff
05-23-2003, 12:14 PM
here you go: http://tgcny.galants.com/8thgen/intake.htm ('http://tgcny.galants.com/8thgen/intake.htm')

jdeprima
05-23-2003, 02:08 PM
Thanks. It looks like that is just turning the box upside-down, is that right? I am talking more about the kit. Is that the cold air intake that I'm thinking of, where you actually replace the hose that runs from the air filter to the throttle body?

Jeff
05-23-2003, 02:57 PM
oh my bad...misunderstood you. for a CAI, you can find one on Ebay (search for CP intake) or find one for the 3rd gen eclipse. I ordered mine off of ebay, so concerning the others, i'd say ask around. installing it is easy...you'll get instructions with your intake. try a search for "CAI"

jdeprima
05-23-2003, 03:28 PM
Thanks. But on the other mod, is it really just turning the box upside down and leaving the filter exposed? I just got my oil changed today and replaced the filter, but nothing special, just whatever Jiffy Lube put in there.

Ryostyle
05-29-2003, 04:36 PM