PDA

View Full Version : Help W/ Turbo Set-Up

My99GTZ
06-25-2003, 09:47 PM
Okay I'm new to this whole boost thing, and I saw the 20G for sale in our forum.... now I'm wondering if I bought this 20g for my 99GTZ what else would I need to run this setup, and how much $$ we talking....

DJ Galant
06-26-2003, 02:42 AM
I am writing this for u, but i will paste it in my turbo faq also so people can read it. I am turboed so I can tell u straight up- turbo will take time and lots of money to get u running good. But since u decided to go turbo, well then deal with the fact and think of the turbo essantials.
To make it run properley since u bought the actual turbo u will need an exhaust manifold ( also called a heather).

Did u do any kind of reasearch on that turbo before u actually bought it?
I mean, I hope u did bro , but rember the rules - bigger turbo is not always better.

In your case ,assuming u have a GTZ hence it is 6g72 v6 powerplant, u will need custom manifold. Now u have 2 manifolds since it is a v6, right?
Well, your best bet will be going twin turbo, each on the manifold, but you can make it work on just one turbo but that sounds like a lot of work bro. Anywayz, figure out what kind of intercooler and pipngs u want to go for. Speaking of pipngs, don't forget about the BOV (blow off valvue) and its location.
Then u need to decide whether on not u want to rebuild your motor with some forged low compression pistons in there and maybe change your connecting rods for some good ones(highy recommended).

Figure out the downpipe - and bigger exhaust is a must bro. There is going to be much more exhasut gases going thru - and u don't want to have a lot of back pressure.
If you think turbo u need to think about the fuel system. Remeber that in order to make more power ( more air comming into cylinders) you will need more fuel to burn with it. IT works for any form of form induction.