PDA

View Full Version : Sir Manybrews...your opinion on where the restrictions are?

Auto-9
08-16-2003, 11:39 PM
So what do you think after working on these vehicles for so long? Is it the induction, exhaust, or...neither? I would be leaning towards neither from personal and observational experience, but then I think about the exhaust manifold and pre-cats. If pre-cats are only good for cold start emissions cleanup, why not have a way to bypass them after the car hits the optimal operating temperature? I'm sure I'm not the only person who's thought about this possibility, so obviously there's a feasibility flaw with this idea. Anyone have any thoughts on what it may be?

Faction
08-17-2003, 12:01 AM
hmmm, i've been working with cars for 3 years now

Edited:

00GTZ00
08-17-2003, 10:04 AM
From what I understand the cams of the car are the major restriction for us...Just an overall VERY conservitive design on mistubishi's part...

Auto-9
08-17-2003, 10:06 AM
From what I understand the cams of the car are the major restriction for us...Just an overall VERY conservitive design on mistubishi's part...

Yeah I've heard stuff about the engine design...guess I should have specified in the thread title that I was looking for his opinion the exhaust and intake https://www.thegalantcenter.org/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif Those are the parts that people mess with for gains, few of us ever delve into engine internals.

manybrews
08-17-2003, 11:15 AM
i would second the cam/engine design.
the intake and exhaust arent a major issue. Its more in the tuning and engineering aspect where the car is a little slow.
Remember, the engineers need to strike a balance between power, emissions, fuel economy, and drivability. So compromises must be made.

Auto-9
08-17-2003, 01:35 PM