The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: "check engine" light stay on once I started the ca

Showing results 1 to 16 of 16
    chendaoba

"check engine" light stay on once I started the ca

Hey, guys, it is my first time to come here.
    It will be highly appreciated if I can get some help or suggestion from your guys.

It happened three days before, that when I turn a left right and got into my apartment's parking lot driving way. I felt my car vibrated a lot and it seemed the car lost power. but I pushed the gas, it still moved forward but the car keeping vibrating for a while. But after about 10 seconds, the car drove like normal.

But I noticed the "check engine" light was on. When I parked the car turned off the car. Then I restarted the car, the "check engine is still on. I just want o know if you guys ever met such problem like the "check engine" light stay on? And after that, when I drive the car, it 90% time like normal, but sometimes if I slow down the car and want to speed up again, it will vibrate several seconds.

My wife used to drive my car, and she like to move the gear to "N" when she stop and didn't like to remain the gear at "D" and push brake. So I wondered if it is the malfunction of transmmission system or gear system?

My car is 7th GEN Galant 1998, auto gear.

first thing i'd do is do a simple inspection of the car. open the hood. see if something is broke unplugged missing burnt etc. fi you can't find anything, i'd then go get the code scanned. many autoparts store will scan the code for you for free. if you can't find a place will do it, a good mechanic will scan it also. the code will help point you into the direction of where the problem is. the person who got the code for you might also give you some suggestions on waht to do. sometimes its somethign you can change on your own, sometimes its something more serious. but yea a simple visual inspection and then grabbing the code is the first thigns i'd do.