The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Getting molded (Updated Pics!)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 22

Getting molded (Updated Pics!)

I started molding the rear bumper on today. Some fiberglass, bondo, primer and a lot of time. Also, removed the side moldings and filled those in. I've got to do a lot of sanding and probably a few more coats of primer to get everything nice and smooth.

Next will be the sideskirts, but I am probably going to have to remove the doors. Not looking forward to that, so I'm doing that last! Have to do some work on the front bumper, but I'm going to wait until I get the driving lights and intercooler installed. The front won't be molded on, but it should look pretty good when I'm done.

This is my first time doing body work so any suggestions, advice, or opinions are welcomed.

I'll take some more pics after I get everything sanded down and I start on the side skirts.

i hope you didnt just bondo it....how did you adhere it?
    TEAM GENESIS

I sanded down to metal on the car, and sanded down to the poly-fiber on the bumper. Then I put two layers of fiber glass. I grinded and sanded down the high spots in the fiberglass and then applied the bondo.

The sideskirts are adhered with 5200 marine adhesive and screws. They are pretty solid so I probably don't need to fiberglass them but I am going to anyway.

Grenbogys
    i'm seeing red Xs

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Grenbogys)</div><div class='quotemain'>i'm seeing red Xs</div>

me, too

Any suggestions on another place to host my pics. I've had several people respond to prior posts that they can't see my pics neither. I use Sony Imagestation.

Grenbogys
    i've always used photobucket.com and i've never had any problems

Here's some updated pics.

The door handles and side moldings have been removed.
    The sideskirts and rear bumper have been molded on.
    The rear emblems have been removed.