The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: 7G Rear Drum to Disk (4 lug to 5 lug)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 44
    Experienced TGC Member Blue Ice's Avatar

7G Rear Drum to Disk (4 lug to 5 lug)

First off let me say that if you do any of what i'm going to tell you it's at your own risk. It worked for me, but it possibly may not work for you.

Parts needed for conversion.

1. Rear Caliper and mounting brackets from 2g Eclipse or a GS Galant; you can get the calipers from the local auto parts store, but they don't sell the mounts, you'll need to check a dealer or a junk yard. You'll aslo need to get mounting bolts from the dealer.

2. Rear Disk Backing Plate and emergency break system; The emergency break system has been referred to as "drum in disk" in other posts. If you buy all the parts brand new from the dealer, (like i did) then you'll have to put this system together. I've never done anything like this before, so it took me about an hour to assemble the first one, and then 25 min to do the second.

3. Break pads
    4. Rear rotors
    5. 5 lug hub assembly from 2g GST

There is another tutorial that talks about needing different Ebrake cables; the stock cables will fit so you don't need to buy e-brake cables like i did.
    I also didn't need to buy any new brake lines or connectors. The system that connects to the drums wil also connect to the disks.

Tools needed.
    Socket; 14mm. Wrench; 10 mm, 8mm open or closed end. Breaker or Cheater bars, Liquid wrench, A drill and bit large enough to help open the housing for the ebrake cable. And a Big Hammer. A cup or can for draining brake fluid. Blue thread locker. Pliers

1. Start by removing the wheels. (if you really needed that step, you should stop right now!!)
    2. Make sure the E brake is not engaged, and then remove the drum cover.
    3. Disconnect the brake line, 10 mm, and drain the brake fluid into you're can.