The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: question about engine swap

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 31

question about engine swap

my question is it possible for me to swap in a six-bolt dsm motor like a 4g63 from a gst into my car. im kinda new to this im 16 and my past experiences on cars are on dsm's my uncle had a couple of eclipses and thats basically tha only car i have a lot of knowledge on... i juz got my 8th gen and im kinda bummed that i have an automatic....
    Jigz-TGCIL Sosick Motorsports

R.I.P. Christopher "CRAZY CHRIS" Beckmann
    "you dont appreciate friendship until you lose your bestfriend...."
    I'd rather have the knowledge and ability to do it than the money to buy it already done.

You are here entirely tooo much!! seth98esT's Avatar
    Only can swap Evo 4-8 Motors...

You bought the wrong gen for a usdm 4g63t swap.
    7g for life!

but how will that fit? doesnt it need to be AWD to be able to fit tha drivetrain?

I'd rather have the knowledge and ability to do it than the money to buy it already done.

Experienced TGC Member
    Quote Originally Posted by 4g63lover
    but how will that fit? doesnt it need to be AWD to be able to fit tha drivetrain?
    Thats the problem, only some 4G63s will fit from certain generations.

This thread may be of some help:
    http://www.eclipseforums.org/fortopic52035.html

Honestly, I would count yourself lucky having the 4G64. You have the ability to practically bolt up a majority of the 4G63 parts directly to your engine (ie get a turbo manifold for a 63, and it bolts right up).

Also you have .4 liters of displacment over the 4g63. And finally if you really want to, it is possible to swap the head out with certain 4g63 heads.

Once again, I wish I had an I4.

if it duznt work out how much hp can i pump out of tha 2.4 4g64 and where can i find a 5-speed tranny for it?

First of all the drivetrain has nothign to do with the engine. Next searchfor the 5spd swap answers.