The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Help!! Paint repair

Showing results 1 to 7 of 7
    stormcruiser

Help!! Paint repair

I used the paint touch up kit and ending up makint the problem worst!!!
    there was a paint chip made by small debrise about .5cm X .5cm. As the touch up kit instruction I rub the sand paper to clear the rust and ending making 2cm x 2cm bare metal part. I started painting but the procedure was so hard and paint ended up ugly. It look like pacthes of shit!!! Now I have patched of 2cm x2 cm ugly part right in the hood. I can't stand it!!!! How can I repair it?
    Will it cost a lot if I took it to auto body shop? How much will it cost?
    Help!!

MitsuMan
    well u need to prime the metal before u paint it, paint with your base paint, use paint hardener, and then clearcoat it, ........thats the usuall process, i dont think a place would charge you THAT much to do such a small area, but in my opinion i would rather wait till there are a few more areas that need touching up just to make it worth your while, they might charde like 50$ to do a 5cm area, just becuse they are mixing paint etc...might as well have them touch up a few other areas while they are at it,....my shop had to fix and paint my bumper but i waited til my spoiler came in cause i figues they have to spray the bumper might as well paint the spoiler too, they only charged me 80$, usually woulda been like 200$, they painted the bumper for free cause it ws on the promisary note before i bought the car it was one of our terms of sale...hope it helps

dean

first off all, the directions say to sand so that u can have a clean surface to apply paint and etc, not make things worse.

secondly, i'd just leave it the way it is or put a sticker over it for the time being, unless its gets to you that bad.