The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Temp gauge spikes

Showing results 1 to 14 of 14
    7G_Beater

Temp gauge spikes

OK I need some opinions since I am still new to this engine- 2.4L SOHC with 150,000 miles roughly.

Let me see if I can explain this without putting anyone to sleep...

I can drive normally and the temp gauge stays around half way. If I tromp it and start playing ripping through corners and crap the temp gauge will increase to just below Hot. If I stay off the throttle after that it doesn't go back down very quickly, if I stop and let it idle it will drop back to normal fairly quickly.
    The only time it goes way up is when I really start flogging the car.

Fans are kicking on (checked both).
    Thermostat is new.
    Radiator cap is not steaming out. (should I replace to be safe?)
    Radiator is full... I have checked and checked and tried burping the system several times.
    There are no leaks that I can find. It is being parked in my garage right now and nothing is dripping.
    Coolant is fresh as per last owner but I have not checked to see what concentration yet. (one reason why I made sure it was full b/c when I got it they never burped the system of air).
    It throws hot hot air... burn your legs hot when the temp is turned all the way up which makes me think it is not the heater core.

What else could it be? I am kind of leaning towards that the water pump is very worn (like the impellers are worn down). I know I am overdue on the timing belt and should switch both.

Any other thoughts or ideas of what it could be?

Like I said I am still getting used to this engine and how it works, I am more used to working on Toy and GM motors.

i can beat the hell out of my turbocharged engine and never see the gauge go a tick over 2mm left of verticle

not that its that accurate a gauge,

but odds are its yoru water pump.

wouldn't hurt to replace your radiator cap.

are your fans kickin in?