The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Buying 2001 Mitsubishi Galant Es

Showing results 1 to 18 of 18

Buying 2001 Mitsubishi Galant Es

Hey, guys!

I'm looking at a 2001 mitsu galant es. here's some info: http://oklahomacity.craigslist.org/car/491975381.html

the car seems to drive rather smooth, i liked it, but there is a little knocking sound while driving sometimes, we took it to midas, but they couldn't find anything wrong with it. they said, however, that the battery is somewhat low and the coolant is at -10 degrees, when it's supposed to be like -60, am i correct? other than that, they haven't noticed anything. am i getting a decent deal? told him, i'd give him $3900 and he agreed, should i try to push it lower? when it comes to cars, i'm a total newb, so forgive me for not knowing most of this stuff :) i love to drive, however..
    he has a pretty extensive car maintenance, not all, but a good chunk of it. seems like he was taking a good care of this car.
    anything specific to watch out for? any tips, help, etc. will be really appreciated.

Thank you,

BiG_V

p.s. the left passenger's window couldn't be opened with the driver's button, but can be operated by the passenger. is that an expensive fix?

You are here entirely tooo much!! RAZ_76's Avatar
    You dont take to Midas, take it to the dealer. Midas guy dont know crap. Knocking is not a good thing to hear, specialy when buying a car that you dontknow nothing about. $3900 is high for that milage, you'll need to service the timing belt, water pump, idlers, 400 to 700 job done by a shop. That window is going to need a new switch, you can find it on ebay for like 30 bucks maybe cheaper at the junk yard. New battery wil be like 60 bucks. I live in Oklahoma City, 5 minutes from Edmond and I would not mind to look at it for you if you like.