The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Several Problems. Help!

Showing results 1 to 15 of 15

Several Problems. Help!

Hello there. I am kind of new at TGC. I'm facing a few problems with my wife's 2002 Galant ES. Is very little what I know from this generation galant so I need your help. First, lately we have noticed a soft transmission noise when going in the highway aroung 70-75 mph. As soon I stop steping on the gas it goes away, or if I accelerate more it also goes away. Its only when I go on one speed continuely. It sounds like I had truck tires on my car but not as noisy, I know it is not the tires because they are new, and I noticed the noise is coming from down the shift lever. My brother told me its very common on these Galants, but I dont think it is normal. does anyone have an idea what could be wrong??

Second, In the mornings when the car is cold, the idle is very rough. The first couple of blocks when ever I stop ,the car vibrates. I feel it on the steering wheel, but the weird part is that the RPM's are not low like the car was going to stall (always around 800-850 RPM). Lately, also adding to the mix, I notice besides the vibration, there is also a rattle noise coming from the driver's side front wheel. BUT everything goes away when the car reaches normal temperature. again anyone??

And third but not least. My dashboard just got 3 cracks in the last 2 weeks. I take very special care in my cars, and every time I look at the dashboard I get very disappointed and angry. Any ideas on how to fix it without spending $800 for a new one at the dealer?

2003 MITSUBISHI GALANT GTZ