The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Sub Installation.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 21
    You are here entirely tooo much!! 99 galant's Avatar

Sub Installation.

So I just bought 2 sony xlpod and an amp.
    The subs are 1000W each and the amp is 800W
    the subs run a constant 600W so the 800W amp will be perfect.
    I bought it as a package.

My question:
    How hard is the install?
    Should I just do it professionally?
    What kind of wire should I buy/do I need?

Thanks guys.

Experienced TGC Member glantv699's Avatar
    Is it a 2 channel amp? I purchased all my stuff online and had it installed at Circuit City wayyy back in the day. I even bought a wiring kit, so I really could have done it on my own but I was a noob and feared electronics (still kinda do). The wiring though isn't too complicated and now that I look back at it, I probably could've done it myself.

You should use at least 4 gauge wire to power the amp, and be sure to pinpoint a good ground. In the end, with subs, all you have is wiring from the head unit to the amp, wiring from the battery to the amp (with a fuse in between), maybe some other accessories, and then speaker wire to the subs.

> TGCPA - SOUTHEAST
    > 2010 Evolution X SE #183 of 340 (1 of 54 in Octane Blue)
    > 1999 ES V6 (Sold 2/2011)

I believe it is a 2 channel amp.
    On the amp it self, it says "2/1 Channel"
    How do you run the wires from the trunk to the battery and head unit. I'm thinking pro installation would be smarter.
    I have some friends that can do it, but for warrentee I dont really want someone else messing up my stuff.