The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: coilover maintenance

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 27

coilover maintenance

I just put D2 coilovers in my car and I was wondering about routine maintenance or problems I should watch for. I'm kinda new to coilovers. Things I am concerned about are:
    strength and reliability of aluminum camber plates, do the bolts on the camber plates loosen over time? should I use loctite on those bolts?

I put some anti-seize compound on the strut body...is that alright?

GREEN is the new BLACK

Being that the camber plates are aluminum they may be subject to corrosion, I'd suggest making a rubber or metal cover of some sort to protect the camber plates when being used as a daily driver (at least in winter). Other than that anti-seize should be more than adequate for the bolts on the strut and the camber plate.

my bolts on my camber plates never came loose but they developed some rust on them as well as the plates themselves, other than that i never had any other problems
    '00 Mitsubishi Galant ES 4g64T (Samantha)
    '01 Mitsubishi Galant ES 4g64 (Daily)
    '02 Mitsubishi Galant ES 4g64 (SCRAPPED)
    '00 Mitsubishi Galant ES 4g64 (SCRAPPED)
    '91 Volvo 740 Turbo B230FT (SOLD)
    '88 Mitsubishi Mighty Max (SOLD)
    '91 Kawasaki ZX7 (SOLD)
    '95 Kawasaki ZX9R

what are the chances of the plates bending?

GREEN is the new BLACK

Quote Originally Posted by ASTIG View Post
    what are the chances of the plates bending?
    The camber plates won't bend, they are thick enough to prevent it, and bolted firmly against the vehicle body to prevent flexing.

my driver side plate is slightly bent but not bad and its only cause the previous owner crashed his car and i guess thats how it happened but that gave me no problems
    '91 Kawasaki ZX7 (SOLD)
    '95 Kawasaki ZX9R