The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: suspension?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 24

suspension?

ok so I'm new to modifying cars. I have some knowledge but not nearly as close as the rest of you.

2 questions:

First, What's the difference between a shock and a strut?

Second, What's a good set-up for a suspension? I want something more than normal but less than performance type

what do you mean normal and performance?

"DSM's, making people mechanics since 1985"
    Quote Originally Posted by polishmafia
    You want real respect from those fools? Don't race him. Tell him racing is a sport left to young boys who are still waiting for their balls to drop. Then while he's out racing, fuck his girlfriend in the ass, take pics, and leave them on his car while hes at school.

normal as in everyday driving

Proto
    Quote Originally Posted by yip yip View Post
    ok so I'm new to modifying cars. I have some knowledge but not nearly as close as the rest of you.

2 questions:

Second, What's a good set-up for a suspension? I want something more than normal but less than performance type
    Same thing bascially, different mounting on the bottom. On the 7g/2g the shock (rear) attaches to the spindle itself and the strut (front) attaches to the strut fork.

Eibach prokit is firm but not rigid, pair these up with KYB AGX and Tokico Illuminas on the softest setting.

Experienced TGC Member showtime's Avatar
    There is a lot you can do to suspension...you can get different springs to enhance the cars appearance and overall performance by lowering the center of gravity, but the only problem with that is our stock shocks/struts wont last to long with anything other than stock springs. You can get adjustable shocks/struts for more performance and then the best performance you can get full coilovers! Depends on what you want from your car...correct me if im wrong guys, im no expert.