The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: evo and five speed swap???

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 36
    4g64turbo

evo and five speed swap???

hi i'm new to this sit and i'm thing of buy a 8g galant and i love your evo swzap, is that a compete motor or just a head, and can you help me i'm trying to fund a write up on how to do the evo swap and a 5 speed swap to find out how hard it is before i get in to somthing i can't finish

blue8g
    well you can do the head swap or the entire engine....and it's not as easy as changing your oil

4g64turbo
    do i use the 5 speed out of the evo or what trans do i use for the swap

you can use the trans from a 2000-2005 eclipse

4g64turbo
    can you use the evo trans???

4g64turbo
    plus i found a web sit that i can get a evo motor and it has everything like the motor and the trans, starter, both manifolds, and the turbo for like 4000.00 and i realy would like to do the swap....

you cant use the transmission since evo's are AWD and the galant is FWD..

Drive, Dream, Drift.
    Drift ALL DAY

u can use the tranny if u use the rear end from a 2g Auto AWD eclipse.

but i think that just might be a little over your head
    RIP GALANT, GOOD MORNING BMW 330i

330i ZSP (E90) - S4 (B5) / hellaflush

4g64turbo
    so the eclipse trans will fit the evo motor with no problem??

yes sir...

Drive, Dream, Drift.
    Drift ALL DAY

You are here entirely tooo much!! Stewi's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by youngfab59 View Post
    you cant use the transmission since evo's are AWD and the galant is FWD..
    Bite your tongue. LOL

Its not entirely true, I run an 04' EVO 8 trans modified for FWD use. I only did this because its stronger than the 3g trans, but if your making under 400whp I would stay with the 3g trans and an LSD. I should be the first person with a 8g/3g running the FWD converted EVO trans. Trust me though, running the modified EVO trans is a much more expensive option.