The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: 40 mph 1500 rpm shaking tranny?

Showing results 1 to 20 of 20

40 mph 1500 rpm shaking tranny?

Hi all,

I've an 01 Galant and I'm trying to find out what's wrong with it. I hope you guys can give me some advice.

When I accelerate slowly around 40mph at 1500rpm the car starts to shake and then it goes it's back to normal.

It's like the car having a hard time to shift up to the next gear.

If I accelerate fast like going up to the highway it doesn't happen.

I'm not a mechanic but I read somewhere that around 40mph when the O/D kicks in?

Any help would be appreciated.

thanks

Laz

that can be all kinds of things, a mount,tranny issue,(i really think no1 has answered because a. not enough info,b. have u tried the search mode 4 ur specfic problem?

I would bet its is either the mounts or some kind of engine hesitation, when was the last time you replaced your plugs and wires, and when did you last change your fuel filter? If it was me I would start there. look for the cheap fix first so when it turns out to be the expensive thing you have all new "cheap" stuff

edit: also check your tranny fluid, with the engine idling at operating temp, put your foot on the brake and move the shifter through every gear a few times, put it in park and with the engine running check the trans fluid.
    Last edited by RedLine DOHC; 10-27-2009 at 02:04 AM

Also a little history would be nice. How are you on the tranny when you drive? Do you shift it manually, neutral drops, etc. How many miles are on the tranny and what maintenance, if any have you done. Have you done anything or had anything done to the car recently or did this just start?

I've got a 2000 v6 with 133,000 on the original tranny with no issues and mitsubishi fluid. Mitsubishi Fluid verrrrrrrrrry important, grasshopper.
    Chip

2000 Basalt Black Metallic GTZ
    (Paint Code: Porsche LC9Z)