The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Noob from Detroit!

Showing results 1 to 7 of 7

Newb from Detroit!

Hey guys what's up!?! My name is Norm and I'm from Detroit. I just got my 'G' about a month ago and I'm very excited about hooking it up. I am a total noob who knows nothing about cars so guys please go easy on me. I've been prowling the site over the last few days just trying to get a feel for the information offered and trying to learn what I can before I start asking you guys questions. I'm kind of a detail orientated guy so just in case you guys want to know what I plan on doing to car here's what I'm thinking.
    First off, my main goal is to learn more about cars. I would really love to personally do as many of the modification as I can. As far as the car, I'll break it down like this.

Exterior
    Originally I wanted to do a body kit but I realized I really like the way the Galant looks and as sweet as some of the kited cars look I'm kind of a purest, so now I'm leaning more towards something that won't modify the appearance of the car too drastically, maybe a JDM bumper or a front lip. You guys generally tell new people to look around at different builds to get an idea of where you want to go (I did that) and I really like what IVORY_G did to his car.

Wheels
    The first mod I'm looking to do is to get some rims/tires which also means I'm open to doing something to the brakes and suspension. Like I said before I'm 'new' (and know nothing about cars) so right now I'm just prowling the forum trying to learn all I can so when I do ask questions I don't sound stupid. If you guys can give me a link to info on what I need to know about wheels/brakes and suspension I would appreciate it.

Engine/ Performance