The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: AMP drains battery?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 22

Icon5 AMP drains battery?

Hey guys, I'm new to the subwoofer/amp world and today I installed my first system in my 8g. Everything looked and worked fine until an hour later i tried turning on my car and the battery was dead. All i have is the amp and the subwoofer connected. Am I missing something? I heard something about adding a "cap" ?

Subs:
    x2 500watt

Amp:
    x1 1k
    Mitsubishi Galant '99
    i4
    174k trans. 30k engine
    all stock.

well if you have a stock battery the dome lights and other things can drain a battery pretty good by them selves, when you add a system on top of that.... for a hour.... not a good idea just get a jump start and let it build back up. also check your remote wire (the blue one) and make sure it turns your amp off when the car goes off

if your thinking about a cap i would say get a AGM battery they do the job or a cap and a battery. they put out more constent power and last much longer than caps.

Thanks a lot as a matter of fact I do have the stock battery and after I installed the system, I did other work to my car while the dome lights and trunk lights were on for a good 20 mins plus testing the system. Ill check the remote wire too.

*whoops
    Mitsubishi Galant '99
    i4
    174k trans. 30k engine
    all stock.

your learning young grasshopper lol

You are here entirely tooo much!! Corey2kG's Avatar
    Cap n battery ftw! lol

FreakyDeaky

Quote Originally Posted by sponcar View Post
    Always remember "do you, not them" cuz thats what make you different than others :)
    2kG 6g72/74 5 speed

yeah looks like for your needs a 1 farrad cap will be fine. Good luck

"Why fart and waste it when you can burp and taste it!"