The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Head Gasket is Blown

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 55

Head Gasket is Blown

Hello everyone,

I have a friend with a 99' Galant who has a blown head gasket (a mechanic told him). He doesn't know much about cars, and I have some knowledge and I was planning to take it apart this weekend and see how bad it is. I've done automotive work before, and I've helped someone replace a headgasket on a V6, but never on an I4. I understand that basically the entire top of the engine has to come off, and one of my main concerns is the timing belt (I have never replaced a timing belt or timed an I4 engine).

I just wanted to see if anyone could provide me with some tips to make this project a little smoother for me (pics, videos, experiences, etc).

Thanks in advance

here is another thread that might help you out.
    https://www.thegalantcenter.org/show...ht=head+gasket

Here are a couple of pics to let you know just how much has to come off:

https://www.thegalantcenter.org/show...8&postcount=18

Timing a 4 cylinder is not hard at all just match up all timing marks.

Back from the dead!!!

started ripping it apart

Thanks everyone for the info you have already supplied me with, it has been extremely helpful so far.

Okay, so I began to take the engine apart...I drained and flushed the cooling system, jacked it up and removed all the accessory belts and the timing belt covers. So this is how far I got.

I was looking in the shop manual (Haynes) and it doesn't describe how to remove the main bolt and gear that holds on the timing belt so I can get to the other belt in the back. I have all the timing marks lined up (I think). The only one I'm not sure about is the one on the main gear. I couldn't find what I thought was the timing mark for the main gear and I circled what I thought could be possible timing marks. Currently, every other mark is lined up (cam, oil pump, and balance shaft).