The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: GS and DOHC Swap Experts - Replicating GS from Scratch

Showing results 1 to 5 of 5

GS and DOHC Swap Experts - Replicating GS from Scratch

I am trying to recreate the NA 2.4 DOHC GS powertrain in a 6-bolt version. I think I've figured out everything I need to do to make this work, but I would really like some input from people with more experience with this type of thing. I should let you know, I've been wrenching on DSMs for almost 10 years now - so I'm really familiar with 4G63s. I've been trolling and searching your forums for about a month; but if I've missed something that's been beaten to death all ready, please share a link.

Mechanically, I'm planning on running a G4CS (4G64) block with a G4CN (4G67) head. I'm going to use 4G63 rods from a 1G DSM and am leaning towards the 7-bolt 16v SOHC 4G64 pistons found in a lot of the mid-90's Galants and Expo/Summit wagovans. I am aware that I'll have to enlarge the small end for the 22mm wrist pins. I'm fairly confident this will be straight forward, but I am slightly concerned that there may be geometrical differences in the valve layout. Which brings me to my first question.

Have any of you that swapped from the SOHC to the DOHC noticed any interference issues? From the swap threads I've seen here so far, it appears that you just toss the DOHC head on and run with it.

My biggest hurdle is figuring out the electronics. I believe I can use a turbo 1G DSM wiring harness with a 94 Galant GS ECU to get a factory tune to run this setup. From what I've gathered, the 94 GS is OBD1 and has the same style ECU connectors as the 1G DSM. Also, you 7G guys run what looks like a turbo 2G DSM MAF. What's the deal with your knock sensors and CAS? Are they 1G or 2G?