The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Gear ratios, GTZ - quarter mile times

Showing results 1 to 6 of 6

Gear ratios, GTZ - quarter mile times

I'm sure that its posted here, but I, being a nooblet, was not able to find information that suited me, using search.

I've talked to Shep before in building tran's for my Evo, and he was very helpful in that regard when I had trouble there, but noticing the very tall gearing in the GTZ 3.0 v6 auto transmission-

Is there anyone here who has built a 3.0 auto trans with different ratios?

Can it be done easily, or by anyone you know?

If I am asking stupid questions, feel free to shoot me. I am no expert when it comes to these things; I'm pretty sure that; to me...if I opened up an automatic transmission it would look like it was filled with matrix code :P

Seeing that 1st tops out at around 45mph, I was thinking that someone who knew what they were doing could build this differently.

But, like I said, I know nothing of automatic transmissions, and this is my first time into FWD driveline.

there are a number of variables that will affect your times, such as existing mods (if any), launch technique, air temp and such, for example, a fast launch on a hot day will yield (in my experence) a slow E/T but the end speed won't suffer, on the flip side, on a cool day with a slow launch can yield a faster time and an end speed around 90 mph