The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: 1st time engine swap underway!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 26

1st time engine swap underway!

Well I've just arranged to pick up an engine with 114k from a wreck to revive my families old 7g that's been in the driveway for 4 years.

This is my first time ever doing an engine swap in any car and I have some help from friends but they are inexperienced as well. Despite this I've been researching and going through these forums for months, so I'm confident that it's doable.

I was just looking for some last minute tips on doing the actual swap, like what parts to replace on the engine, etc. The only thing I know to replace so far is the timing belt.

I'll start a project thread with lots of pictures once I begin.

You are here entirely tooo much!! beam514's Avatar
    I don't know if you guys have a hydraulic tensioner for the timing belt on your engine, but if you do, replace it with a brand new one.

You are here entirely tooo much!! Galanttuner10's Avatar
    Yes we go have a hydraulic tensioner and it would be due to do the belt and tensioner at 120k anyway so do the timing belt water pump balance shaft belt and tensioner and you will be set to drop her in and go. Also, what year is the motor out of and what year is your car?
    2014 Lancer Evo GSR
    1996 Galant S 5 Speed Turbo
    Need a Turbo rebuilt or upgraded--> http://www.thegalantcenter.org/showt...ebuild-Service

The engine is from a 1998 and my car is a 1997.

where in LI are you

Farmingville in Suffolk County. If this so called hurricane hits us this weekend it's gonna slow down my progress : [