The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Broken timing belt. FML

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 20 of 36

Icon5 Broken timing belt. FML

Timing belt broke in my 8g mid drive doing about 60mph. Unknowing what the problem was I prb cranked the motor a good 10 times since then. I'm pretty sure its the timing belt since the top cover was broken and the belt seems to be broken inside as well (although I am not 100% sure). What are the chances my valves are bent if so? Considering I'm a broke college student, I'm praying that its just the belt and nothing much more serious than that. Also, I found a place that'll replace it and the water pump for about $390. Decent price? Feel free to ask me anything that may be relevant or something i left out.

Thank you guys.

The only was to tell is to do a compression test. Is the belt still attached and spinning when you crank it? If you can't tell just open the oil cap and look for moving parts

Yeah when I crank it the belt is still spinning.

Sorry to hear. Mine broke about 4 months ago and there were valves damaged. had to get heads machined. All in all, it cost me $1,200 and I was just about to change the belt before this happened. I would have only payed half of that, at best >:(

Mitsubishi motors are mostly interference so getting away with needing just a belt is slim to none.
    Jigz-TGCIL Sosick Motorsports

R.I.P. Christopher "CRAZY CHRIS" Beckmann
    "you dont appreciate friendship until you lose your bestfriend...."
    I'd rather have the knowledge and ability to do it than the money to buy it already done.

Slim to none is an under statement. Dude if you snaped the belt you defiantly bent valves end of story!

Yeah especially if you cranked it since then

Quote Originally Posted by OhNoItsFelix View Post
    Yeah when I crank it the belt is still spinning.
    If the timing belt is still spinning it sounds like at worst it skipped some teeth and shreaded its self up a bit.