The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: 94 Galant:Check engine light on, then blows radio fuse

Showing results 1 to 9 of 9

94 Galant:Check engine light on, then blows radio fuse

Hey Guys I just picked up a sweet 94 LS. It has 134K and very well maintained. The issue I have is the Check engine light came on while on the highway home. I'm a backyard mechanic and familiar with engines. I believe it has OBD-I. Car was made in March of 94. When I try to ground the #1 slot of the Diagnostic connector under the dash it shorts out the radio/clock fuse. I did some research and bought the Haynes manual. Well it looks like I am using the correct slot. I'm grounding it with a jumper wire using the accelerator spring that looks like it is well grounded to the pedal mounting plate on the firewall. When looking at the connector with my head sideways looking up (my right ear faces carpet) the slot I am using is the upper left corner. It's the 1st slot from the top row and from left to right. Could this car be actually be one those mixmatch cars that have OBD-I Diagnostics with OBD-II connector? I've read somewhere about them. I unplugged the battery and light went away but I know it will be back someday. I'll try to post pics, Thanks in advance

Yes the 94 galant is one those mixmatch cars that have OBD-I Diagnostics with OBD-II connector
    jjj
    98 ES (5 spd), 94 GS (5 spd), 94 ES (rebuilt auto), 92 Toyota 4X4, 81 KZ550 A2, 67 Mercedes 250S, 58 Mercedes 190SL

Previous thread covered this at https://www.thegalantcenter.org/show...ht=flash+codes. I've copied/pasted the section that should help you out but more information avaialbe on that thread.

This copied from "Car Problems? 7th Gen Only" topic "electrical problem/On Board Diagnstics (OBD) plug problem"