The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Help, VR4 Conversion

Showing results 1 to 17 of 17

Help, VR4 Conversion

During an average tune on my 03 Galant V6 something got into my engine which I did not realize until I started it and it started knocking. Now due to the damage to the metal that was in there (Whatever it was the Piston crushed from the point of no recognition.) I now have to either rebuild my engine or swap it out for another.

I decided to take the high road and drop a U.S. VR4 into it since I'm going to spend money either way.

2003 Galant ES V6 engine coming out - 1999 3000GT VR4 gong in.

This is where I hope you can come in, I am a noob but I will have a mechanic help me install it after his work hours and in the weekends for $1,000 as long as I assist him. What I need to know is what are all the components and fabrications if any I need to perform to make this swap possible.

Drivetrain? (I'm trying to go Automatic, please keep that in mind.)
    Mounts?
    ECU?
    Etc,Etc.

Also I'm going to take the engine to a machine shop while in the meantime I gather the parts I need once I know what they are.

I want to get at max 500HP and I want the engine to last a few years without having to touch it for some major mechanical flaw. What route should I take in the rebuild in regards to Bore Size, Piston Size, Bearing Size, Cam, Heads, Etc, Etc and also what name brands to use in the internal?
    (OEM or Aftermarket?)

Thanks in Advance for your help and professional advice!
    Last edited by June_03GV6_ES; 09-06-2012 at 12:11 AM

I will post pics of the progress once I know what I need.

P.S. This Swap Will Happen... Motivation and Money = Success!
    Last edited by June_03GV6_ES; 09-06-2012 at 12:15 AM