The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Air Conditioning idle problem

Showing results 1 to 16 of 16

Air Conditioning idle doubt

Hi there to everyone.

I just reinstalled my air conditioning compressor after almost a year, everything seems to be working perfectly. but I'm having a doubt. when the engine is idling and I turn on the air conditioning, the engine goes almost to 100rpm. if I remember correctly, there is an automatic system that regulates the engine rmp when the air conditioner is on. this to prevent the engine rpm from falling to near zero.
    well there is my doubt, I do not remember where this system is located or which is the system that controls this. if someone can help me with this pls?

so.... no1 knwos about a/c here? :s

I'm no expert, but the Idle Air Control is supposed to adjust your idle to compensate for the load from the A/C.

Did you reconnect everything when you put the compressor back in? There should be a switch/sensor I would imagine letting the computer know the a/c is on and to adjust the idle accordingly. If it's been disconnected for a long time your computer might need to relearn the idle.

Try disconnecting the battery for like 15 minutes to reset the computer, then reconnect it and drive it around the neighborhood. Turn the a/c on and off a few times. Worth a shot and best of all.. it's free to try!

Bringing back an old thread.

Anytime I turn my a/c on the car begins to idle low and eventually dies. I see that Gunny commented on it possibly being the IAC but I just replaced mine 2-3 months ago. This issue just started 2 days ago. I would appreciate any help with this issue.

The key to Immortality is first living a life worth remembering.