The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: sub box designs

Showing results 1 to 11 of 11

sub box designs

wanna see what yall think of this setup. the fosgate 8's sound really good on some songs but absolute crap at others...its my first attempt at a ported box so feel free to comment on the overall design

2000 Galant bagged and boomin!

A couple questions:

1. how are you coming up with the shape of your boxes? Are you keeping track of your port dimensions? The two side boxes seem to be different in the port areas. If that's not done correctly, your sound will suffer.

2. Why so many screws? Believe it or not, but wood glue is better for boxes. Screws can vibe loose, wood glue tends to stay.

3. Are there any reasons why you want to have them fire differently? One is front-firing while the other two are rear firing (If I'm imagining the placement correctly). I find in the trunk, rear-firing produces more output but my ports are on the same baffle as the sub. So your most powerful sub isn't in its most efficient placement (though with three subs it may not matter).

4. How's it all wired?

-Greg

"I smashed up the grey one, bought me a red;
    Every time we hit the parking lot we turn heads!"
    -Pimp C, "International Players Anthem"

A couple questions:

1. how are you coming up with the shape of your boxes? Are you keeping track of your port dimensions? The two side boxes seem to be different in the port areas. If that's not done correctly, your sound will suffer.