The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: New veteran here...

Showing results 1 to 5 of 5

New veteran here...

Hello all!
    I'm new to the Galant world and just bought a 2000 8g GTZ 3.0L. I'm a former owner/ builder of DSM's
    1990 Eclipse GSX 591 awhp with DP meth and some spray for lag and
    1998 Eclipse GST show car.
    Also, I built my first 12 second bottle fed and engine swapped CRX when I was 12 years old, then 2 more CRX's after that, a 91 MR2 turbo, and an 05' Neon SRT-4 with DP meth and a PTE 60-1.
    So I'm a bit experienced in the in the DSM 4g sector and over-all experienced in tuning and performance.
    Now that being said, I bought the car yesterday from a guy that was retiring and in the middle of the project. He was trying to install an Alpine head unit, 6 1/2" door speakers up front, and 6x9's in the back and had a leak in the floorboard of the drivers seat. (The leak is still there).
    The body was in decent shape and it had a set of wheels on it when I bought it. The carpet was in the trunk and he dynamat'd the floorboards.
    Since buying the car yesterday, I put in a new battery, starter, cold air intake, new fog lights, cleaned the engine bay, installed new valve cover gaskets bought new tires and finished the Alpine stereo system. I talked the gentleman down from $600 to $240! The car is pretty nice having leather seats and wood grain and it's quit a change of pace for me lol.
    I plan on purchasing the GR-2's and Tein S-type's for the suspension and getting some updated projector headlights pretty soon. I want to paint the car but don't know whether to do a professional flat black and give it a suddle straddle with some decent Rota wheels or go with Evo wheels and keep the paint the burgandy color. Either way I'm happy to be a part of the Galant world and look forward to conducting business with some of you and learning from all of you!
    Thanks for reading! Cheers!