The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Engine oil or transsmission fluid?

Showing results 1 to 11 of 11
    czou

Engine oil or transsmission fluid?

I am going to change the engine oil for my 1998 galant. However, there are two tanks down there (one in driver side close to filter and the other one is on the passenger side) and both have a bolt which looks like the bolt to drain engine oil. Whcih one is the engine oil bolt and what is the other one for?

Thanks!

im no expert. to tell u the truth i've never seen the underside of the 7g b4...but uhm, using deductive resoning, the drain plug for the tranny oil can't be on the drivers side since the tranny is on the passneger side....

Webhosting for less than $3 a month? put "pinoyesv6" as a promo code.

well first find ur tranny, look at it and look under ur car, there is a bolt there, thats for the tranny fluid, now look at ur engine, and look under, the bolt there is to drain ur oil...........um yeah thats it

czou

It sounds like galant do have a bolt to drain the transimmis

Thanks, Pinoyesv6 and NYgalant.

The reason I asked the above question is that the guy in Autozone said the structure for transsmission oil is different from engine oil, Basically you can not drain your transsmission fluids. You have to unscrew a panel something and it sounds quite complicated to do that job.

However, I unscrewed both bolts and there were oils coming out at both tanks and now both tanks are empty and I do not know what to do now. May be you guys are right. Galant may have designed the way to change its transsnission fuild in the same way like changng its engine oil.

whoa!! u drained ur tranny fluid? well off the back tranny fluid is red, so u should have stopped when u saw red fluid coming out as for the oil, that black shit should have told u it was oil, just make sure u fill up ur tranny back with the right fluid or u gonna have problems

Re: It sounds like galant do have a bolt to drain the transi