The Galant Center - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Radio/Clock will not work...

Showing results 1 to 20 of 20
    modded98galant

Radio/Clock will not work...

Hey guys...newbie here...

I have a 98 galant. I removed the battery and replaced it with a brand new one. My radio worked fine prior to the battery change. Since I removed the battery, my radio no longer works and the clock on the dash isn't on either. I went to autozone and replaced the 15a fuse for the radio but that did not work. I heard that there is some sort of radio code that needs to be reset for the radio to work. However, I don't have the stock radio. I have an aftermarket one. Are there codes for aftermarket radios??? Any other ideas of what could be going on?

Thank you for any help.

there shouldnt be a code for an aftermarket one.. check the wiring and check the fuse again..
    04 Maxima SL in Bronze with Black leather

Experienced TGC Member fliegendaffe's Avatar
    do your dome lights come on? if not, then it's that fuse.

do you have a multimeter? if so, tone check all your fuses.

if all your fuses give off a tone, pull your radio out and test to see if you're 12v constant wire is getting power and also check to see if your acc. wire is getting 12v when the key is turned. when donig this, try to use metal as your ground vs the ground in the harness.

if you get 12v on both wires, check your ground.

check the fuse on the back of the radio.

it should be the same fuse for the radio, clock and dome lights
    God created turbo lag to give the v8's a brief moment of hope.

Build Thread

Quote Originally Posted by mko View Post
    it should be the same fuse for the radio, clock and dome lights
    but there is multiple radio fuses.

i know of only one radio fuse, and its close to the kick panel on the drivers side

Build Thread

Quote Originally Posted by mko View Post
    i know of only one radio fuse, and its close to the kick panel on the drivers side